News

What’s up?

in

Check out our upcoming events in the events calendar: www.bookshop.se/events

Books of the Month for September 2017

Discover the Books of the Month for September – there’s something for everyone!

Modern Fiction – Classics – Short stories

MODERN FICTION
Autumn – Ali Smith
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017! Autumn. Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness. That's what it felt like for Keats in 1819. How about Autumn 2016?

Daniel is a century old. Elisabeth, born in 1984, has her eye on the future. The United Kingdom is in pieces, divided by a historic once-in-a-generation summer. Love is won, love is lost. Hope is hand in hand with hopelessness. The seasons roll round, as ever.
The first in a seasonal quartet.  
Paperback 150:-

CLASSICS
Kim – Rudyard Kipling 
Kipling’s epic rendition of the imperial experience in India is also his greatest long work. Kim is considered to be one of the first spy novels, and gives a knowledgeable portrait of both India at the time, of the Anglo-Indian relationship and of The Great Game.
Paperback 100:-

SHORT STORIES
How Much the Heart Can Hold: Seven Stories on Love
Love is not a singular concept. In this collection, seven award-winning authors explore seven concepts of love: from Philautia, self-love, to Agape, love for humanity; and from Storge, a natural affection for family, to Mania, a frenzied, obsessive love. Seven authors; seven short stories; seven flashes of love.
Paperback 150:-

British Crime – Tough Crime

BRITISH CRIME
She Be Damned – M.J. Tjia    Longlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger
London, 1863: prostitutes in the Waterloo area are turning up dead, their sexual organs mutilated and removed. When another girl goes missing, fears grow that the killer may have claimed their latest victim. The police are at a loss and so it falls to courtesan and professional detective, Heloise Chancey, to investigate. 
Paperback 150:-

TOUGH CRIME
The Black Country – Kerry Hadley-Pryce
Maddie and Harry: she’s an estate agent, he’s a teacher. They’ll say they live in the Black Country. They’ll say how they met Jonathan Cotard, explain how they later argued, had a car accident, thought they’d killed someone. The Black Country. For Maddie and Harry, it’s darker than it should be.
Paperback 150:-

Science-Fiction – Fantasy – Urban Fantasy

SCIENCE FICTION
All the Birds in the Sky – Charlie Jane Anders
Winner of the 2017 Nebula award!  Finalist for the 2017 Hugo Award Best Novel and Locus Award 2017!

Patricia is a witch who can communicate with animals. Laurence is a mad scientist and inventor of the two-second time machine. As teenagers they gravitate towards one another, sharing in the horrors of growing up weird, but their lives take different paths... When they meet again as adults, Laurence is an engineering genius trying to save the world and live up to his reputation in near-future San Francisco. Meanwhile, Patricia is a graduate of Eltisley Maze, the hidden academy for the magically gifted, working hard to prove herself to her fellow magicians and secretly repair the earth's ever growing ailments. As they attempt to save our future, Laurence and Patricia's shared past pulls them back together.
Paperback 130:-

FANTASY
The House of Shattered Wings – Aliette de Bodard
The House of Shattered Wings is many things. It’s a murder mystery. It’s a post-apocalyptic survival tale. It’s a steel-cold look at protagonists who are antiheroes. It’s a slow-burn Gothic narrative with plenty of tension and a sense of impending doom that retains elegance and poise and never comes crashing down. It is also a story about imperialism, about displacement and belonging, about loyalties and the desperate desire to simply return to your own tribe.
Paperback 150:-

URBAN FANTASY/PARANORMAL
Alice – Christina Henry
Inspired by the wonderous works of Lewis Carroll, this is the tale of Alice, who has been stuck in a mental health hospital for years, although she can’t remember why. All she can remember is a tea party long ago. Long ears and blood. Until one night she escapes, free to uncover the truth about what happened to her. When she escapes, something escapes with her, but the truth she desperately seeks is so much stranger than any madman’s ranting.

Paperback 130:-

Teen/Young Adult – Non-Fiction

TEEN / YOUNG ADULT
This Raging Light – Estelle Laure
A teenage girl falls for her best friend's brother in Estelle Laure’s soulful debut that’s perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell. A heartbreakingly beautiful book that you'll devour in one sitting, but remember forever. 

Paperback 130:-

NON-FICTION 
Treasure Palaces: Great Writers Visit Great Museums – Maggie Fergusson
A collection of moving, lyrical essays that speak to the enduring power of museums in our cultural life, and will leave you longing to revisit your favourite treasure palace or looking for a new one to explore.

From a stunning villa on sunny Capri with Ali Smith to an unlikely temple in the heart of Copenhagen with Alan Hollinghurst, Treasure Palaces brings together over twenty of the world's greatest writers to give their own personal tours of the museums that have awed, haunted and inspired them.

Paperback 150:-

Meet Christoffer Carlsson – Nordic Noir Talk

Nordic Noir Talk – Christoffer Carlsson

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 14 Sept 18:30

Meet Christoffer Carlsson
and get to know detective Leo Junker and the world of crime

The Leo Junker series – about a young police officer teetering on the edge of the law, crippled by both trauma in the past and bad judgment in the present. Although Leo can’t let go of the crimes he must investigate, his obsession isn’t due to some deep sense of duty; Leo is haunted by the crimes because they in some way seem to be about him.

As a criminologist, Christoffer Carlsson is more interested in the motivations behind the crimes than the crimes themselves. His books are about the why rather than the what. And, most of all, they are about the who.

Recently released: October is the Coldest Month, a young adult mystery.

Tickets 60:- (incl snacka and refreshments) online at www.billetto.se/nordic-noir-carlsson or at the bookshop.

The Leo Junker series and the young adult mystery October is the Coldest Month

Release party: Lagom

Release: Lagom – The Swedish Secret of Living Well

STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 12th Sept at 18:30

Release for ”Lagom: The Swedish Secret of Living Well” by Lola A Åkerström

As the Swedish proverb goes, ‘Lagom är bäst’ (The right amount is best). ”Lagom” sums up the Swedish psyche and is a way of living that promotes harmony. Full of insights and beautiful photographs, this authentic guide will help you make small, simple changes to your everyday life – whether that’s your diet, lifestyle, money, work or your home – so you can have a happier, more ­balanced way of living.

Award-winning writer and photographer Lola (Akinmade) Åkerström has photographed and dispatched from roughly 60 countries for various publications. Read more about her and view her photos at www.akinmade.com

Bring a friend and explore the Swedish concept of ”lagom”!

Celebrate KulturNatten at The English Bookshop

Celebrate Culture Night at the bookshop

UPPSALA | Saturday 9th September

Celebrate KulturNatten at The English Bookshop! All events are free!

11:00–11:30
Storytelling for Children with Hannah

18:00–19:30
Meet award-winning Irish author Lisa McInerney

20:00–21:30
Mattias Boström & Sherlock

Click to read more about the evening events below

Author signing: Lisa McInerney in Stockholm

Signing: Lisa McInerney in Stockholm


STOCKHOLM | Saturday 9th Sept at 13:00

Meet Lisa McInerney! The Irish debut novelist Lisa Mc­Inerney became a major literary figure in the English-speaking world by winning both the prestigious Desmond Elliot award and the Baileys (formerly Orange) Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2016 for her debut novel The Glorious Heresies.

Her latest novel is The Blood Miracles.

(You can also meet Lisa in Uppsala in a KulturNatten event in our Uppsala shop at 18:00 on Sept 9th.)

Author reading: Judith Bourque – Robes of Silk, Feet of Clay

Robes of Silk, Feet of Clay – Judith Bourque

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 7th Sept at 18:30

The true story of a love affair with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, the Indian Guru. In the book Robes of Silk, Feet of Clay author Judith Bourque describes the unexpected love affair that developed with Maharishi when she went to India as a young woman to become a teacher of Transcendental Meditation. 

Meet Judith Bourque in this reading/signing at the Stockholm shop. Free.

Releasefest Orkidépojken

Releasefest Orkidépojken

STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 29th August from 18:00

We are proud to host the release party of long-time bookshop friend and blogger Helena Dahlgren's debut novel Orkidépojken in our Stockholm shop! Welcome to this free release event. (Swedish-speaking event, as the book is in Swedish. Details below.)

Our Sofo shop is turning two!

Sofo shop turning two! 3-for-2 on everything

STOCKHOLM | Fri 18th–Sun 20th

Our Stockholm shop in Sofo is TURNING TWO! This is cause for celebration!

SPECIAL OFFER 3–for–2 on everything in the Stockholm shop all weekend, Friday 18th – Sunday 20th (shop open late).

The neighbourhood festival NYTORGSFESTEN is also on all weekend; music & festivities all over the neighbourhood until late. The bookshop also stays open late, so do come by for a fun evening in Sofo!

The famous jazz club Fasching celebrates 40 years on Saturday with concerts in Vitabergsparken, and on Saturday night Södermalm is hosting the festive midnight running event Midnattsloppet.

Welcome to a very special weekend in Sofo!

Writing Workshop with Gillian Polack

in

Writing Workshop with Gillian Polack

UPPSALA | Wed 16th August

Workshop in writing fantasy and historical fiction with Australian author, historian and narrative specialist Gillian Polack.

Let Gillian Polack guide you through some interesting questions of culture and other unintentional markers and inspire you to use new knowledge and research when writing both fantasy and historical fiction.

Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther