Stockholm shop

What happens after #metoo?

What happens after #metoo?

STOCKHOLM | Friday 24th Nov at 18–20

We’re proud to be hosting the launch for We Need to Talk – solidarity and survivorship.
A book about what happens after #metoo by award-winning spoken word artist Agnes Török.

This is a free event, open to all. 10% of proceeds from the book are donated to organisations working to end sexual violence and support victims and survivors.

Come for the poetry reading, and the panel discussion of what to do after #metoo. Stay for the mingle, snacks and chance to support the great work of FATTA, Föreningen Tillsammans and Stjärnjouren - Sundbybergs Tjejjour among others. Refreshments, merchandise and books sold.

WE NEED TO TALK
is a call to arms.
A voice in the silence.
The beginnings of a plan on How To Change Everything.
Let’s start right now.

» Feel free to share and RSVP this facebook event

Release: 99 Americanisms that Captured the World

Release 99 Americanisms that Captured the World

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 16th Nov at 18:00

”…two countries divided by a common language”

Join us and the Swedish-British Society in the Stockholm shop for the release of 99 Americanisms that Captured the World – the latest book by the President of the Swedish-British Society, Professor Wilhelm Engström, and his co-author Dr Fergal Donnelly

The authors will expand on ”…two countries divided by a common language”, a bon mot normally attributed to Oscar Wilde. It sounds innocuous enough to our ears, as do ’reliable’, ’influential’ and ’lengthy’, which all inspired loathing when they first crossed the Atlantic. 

Understanding the game of linguistic and cultural differences can make the course of business run more smoothly, but even if we learn each other’s language there is still a natural barrier that keeps our two worlds apart. 

Find out more at the book release event on November 16th.
Snacks and refreshments will be served. Free event.

» Feel free to share and RSVP to this facebook event

Stockholm shop closed Monday 6th Nov

Stockholm shop closed Monday 6th November

STOCKHOLM | Monday 6th November

The Stockholm shop is closed on Monday 6th November due to ventilation works (getting fresh air in, yay!) On Tuesday and Wednesday the shop will open at noon (to give the repairmen all morning to work on the vents).

Author visit: Brian Kimberling – Snapper

Meet Brian Kimberling

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 19th October at 18:30

A birdwatcher’s guide to the human heart – an unconventional coming of age story from an unforgettable new voice that will appeal to fans of David Vann and Annie Proulx.

With wry humour and real freshness, Snapper charts the disastrous love affair between career birdwatcher Nathan Lochmueller and the place that made him.

Brian Kimberling grew up in Evansville, Indiana, and graduated from Indiana University. As a student he was involved in a major study of songbirds, an experience central to his first novel, Snapper. Subsequently he taught English in the Czech Republic, Mexico, and Turkey. He now lives in England.

Meet Brian in the Stockholm shop on Thursday 19th October at 18:30
Tickets 30:-. Get your ticket today!

Discover the poetry of Emily Dickinson

The Poets light but Lamps - Ann-Marie Vinde

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 12th October at 18:30

The Poets light but Lamps
New poems in Swedish by Emily Dickinson (1830-1886)
 
Only a limited number of Dickinson’s poems were known to her contemporaries. Today she has long been recognized as one of America’s greatest poets.
 
”Poeter tänder bara lampor/The Poets light but Lamps” is Ann-Marie Vinde’s second collection of translations of Dickinson poems. Like her first one, ”Min flod flyter mot dig/My River runs to thee”, it is bilingual and annotated.
 
Ms Vinde will read from her new volume and provide some background.
 
Thursday 12th October at 18:30
Tickets 30:-. Get your ticket today at the Stockholm bookshop!

Release of the new John Green book!

Release of the new John Green book

UPPSALA & STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 10th Oct at 07:01

To celebrate the new John Green book, the first book from the brilliant author since The Fault in our Stars, we're hosting a EARLY MORNING RELEASE of his new novel Turtles All the Way Down! (We have to stick to American midnight...)

You can pre-book your copy at the shop to make you are one of the first to get your hands on a book.

The doors open at 7 am, and if you are the very first (or one of the first) to buy your book, we promise to add a little extra something! The early bird catches the worm, you know. ;-)

Author reading: The Summer Guest – Alison Anderson

Author reading: The Summer Guest – Alison Anderson

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 5th October at 18:30

What if Anton Chekhov, undisputed master of the short story, actually wrote a novel – and the manuscript still existed? 

Introducing: The Summer Guest by Alison Anderson. This tantalizing possibility drives The Summer Guest, a spellbinding narrative that draws together, across two centuries, the lives of three women through the discovery of a diary. 

Welcome! Free.

Meet Christoffer Carlsson – Nordic Noir Talk

Nordic Noir Talk – Christoffer Carlsson

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 14 Sept 18:30

Meet Christoffer Carlsson
and get to know detective Leo Junker and the world of crime

The Leo Junker series – about a young police officer teetering on the edge of the law, crippled by both trauma in the past and bad judgment in the present. Although Leo can’t let go of the crimes he must investigate, his obsession isn’t due to some deep sense of duty; Leo is haunted by the crimes because they in some way seem to be about him.

As a criminologist, Christoffer Carlsson is more interested in the motivations behind the crimes than the crimes themselves. His books are about the why rather than the what. And, most of all, they are about the who.

Recently released: October is the Coldest Month, a young adult mystery.

Tickets 60:- (incl snacka and refreshments) online at www.billetto.se/nordic-noir-carlsson or at the bookshop.

The Leo Junker series and the young adult mystery October is the Coldest Month

Release party: Lagom

Release: Lagom – The Swedish Secret of Living Well

STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 12th Sept at 18:30

Release for ”Lagom: The Swedish Secret of Living Well” by Lola A Åkerström

As the Swedish proverb goes, ‘Lagom är bäst’ (The right amount is best). ”Lagom” sums up the Swedish psyche and is a way of living that promotes harmony. Full of insights and beautiful photographs, this authentic guide will help you make small, simple changes to your everyday life – whether that’s your diet, lifestyle, money, work or your home – so you can have a happier, more ­balanced way of living.

Award-winning writer and photographer Lola (Akinmade) Åkerström has photographed and dispatched from roughly 60 countries for various publications. Read more about her and view her photos at www.akinmade.com

Bring a friend and explore the Swedish concept of ”lagom”!

Author signing: Lisa McInerney in Stockholm

Signing: Lisa McInerney in Stockholm


STOCKHOLM | Saturday 9th Sept at 13:00

Meet Lisa McInerney! The Irish debut novelist Lisa Mc­Inerney became a major literary figure in the English-speaking world by winning both the prestigious Desmond Elliot award and the Baileys (formerly Orange) Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2016 for her debut novel The Glorious Heresies.

Her latest novel is The Blood Miracles.

(You can also meet Lisa in Uppsala in a KulturNatten event in our Uppsala shop at 18:00 on Sept 9th.)

Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther