Books of the Month for February 2018


Have you discovered the Books of the Month for February? 

Books of the Month – Fiction- Classics - Short Stories

Idaho – Emily Ruskovich

Opening with an act of inexplicable violence, Idaho is a stunning debut about loss, grief and redemption. In a story told from multiple perspectives and in razor-sharp prose, we gradually learn more about this act, and the way its violence, love and memory reverberate through the life of every character in Idaho.

» Paperback 150:-

Giovanni’s Room – James Baldwin

Set in the 1950s Paris of American expatriates, liaisons, and violence, this title presents a story of a fated love triangle that explores the conflicts between desire, conventional morality and sexual identity.

» Paperback 150:-

Bad Dreams – Tessa Hadley

Two sisters quarrel over an inheritance and a new baby. A housekeeper caring for a helpless old man uncovers secrets from his past. A young girl accepts a lift in a car with a group of strangers. An old friend brings bad news to a dinner party.

In these gripping and unsettling stories, the ordinary is made extraordinary and the real things that happen to people turn out to be every bit as mysterious as their dreams. 

» Paperback 150:-

Books of the Month – British Crime - Tough Crime


Murder at the Mill (an Iris Grey Mystery) – M.B. Shaw

A picture hides a thousand lies. And only Iris Grey can uncover the truth…

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author M.B. Shaw (Tilly Bagshawe) – a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Marple and Midsomer Murders. 

» Paperback 150:-

Chance – Kem Nunn

From the LA Times Book Prize-winning author comes a suspenseful and mind-bending novel about Eldon Chance, a forensic neuropsychiatrist at the end of his rope now a major TV series starring Hugh Laurie and Gretchen Mol.

Chance is a dark story about psychiatric mystery, sexual obsession, fractured identities, and terrifyingly realistic violence; a tale told amid the back streets of California s Bay Area, far from the cleansing breezes of the ocean. 

» Paperback 150:-

Books of the Month – Sci-Fi - Fanatasy - Urban Fantasy

The Prey of Gods – Nicky Drayden

From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humour.

In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. Yes—the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges... 

» Paperback 165:-


Down Station – Simon Morden

A small group of commuters and tube workers witness a fiery apocalypse overtaking London. They make their escape through a service tunnel. Reaching a door they step through... and find themselves on a wild shore backed by cliffs and rolling grassland. The way back is blocked…

Award-winning author Simon Morden joins Gollancz with a stunning SF quest across a vast world that mirrors every London ever built. 

» Paperback 150:-

The Clown Service – Guy Adams

Toby Greene has been reassigned.
The Department: Section 37 Station Office, Wood Green.
The Boss: August Shining, an ex-Cambridge, Cold War-era spy.
The Mission: Charged with protecting Great Britain and its interests from paranormal terrorism.
The Threat: An old enemy has returned, and with him Operation Black Earth, a Soviet plan to create the ultimate insurgents by re-animating the dead.
In The Clown Service Spooks meets The X-Files with a generous helping of Le Carré, and a dash of Stephen King. 

» Paperback 150:-

Books of the Month – Teen/Young Adult - Non-Fiction

I am Thunder – 

Muhammad Khan

”I promised myself this time would be different. I would stand up for myself.” Fifteen-year-old Muzna Saleem is used to being invisible. So no one is more surprised than her when Arif Malik, the hottest boy in school, takes a sudden interest.
But Arif is hiding a terrible secret and, as they begin to follow a dark path, Muzna faces an impossible choice: keep quiet and betray her beliefs, or speak out and betray her heart.
I Am Thunder is the debut novel from stunning YA voice, Muhammad Khan, which questions how far you'll go to stand up for what you believe. 

» Paperback 130:- 

NON-FICTION (Biography)
Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America – 

Nancy MacLean

An explosive expose of the right’s relentless campaign to eliminate unions, suppress voting, privatize public education, and change the Constitution.

» Paperback 165:-

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther